What have i learnt?-reflective blog

So here we are, the last ever blog. Sat in teaching space 5 & 6 in January, this day seemed like a lifetime away, but once again, the semester has flown by in a bluster of assignments, essays, lectures, blogs and DISSERTATION. It’s also scary to think that this is the last semester as undergrads here at Bangor, or for many people, their last semester in Bangor at all. Anyway, enough of my reminiscing and what not, and onto what this module has taught me and what I have learnt.

I think its safe to say that we’ve all enjoyed this module and every aspect that its involved. For me personally, I’ve learnt a lot, both on a personal level and an educational level. So I’ll start with the personal stuff.

I’ve learnt that I can speak in public, something I’ve been fighting and avoiding since day one of discovering what POPPS was, and what it involved. But I can, every other week I’ve stood up in front of other class mates (and Jesse) and spoken about a topic I’ve found interesting that particular week. I may not have enjoyed the process completely and worried every evening before and the morning of my talk, but I did it, and more importantly, every week I’ve noticed my own confidence growing and growing (see videos for proof). I’ve learnt that I can manage my time well, as someone who usually struggles with weekly deadlines and the pile up of work; I’ve coped (my top tip for future students is to try and be one week ahead at all times, takes the pressure off when dissertation work is piling up). Lastly, on a personal level, I’ve learnt that I can take part in a discussion without being scared. I’m mostly speaking about comments here, I’ve learnt that I can question peoples work without being worried about the repercussions and should they make a point back, I’ve developed the confidence to make another point; this really aided my learning in particular subjects as well.

Now onto the educational stuff. I’ve learnt many aspects about the science of education in this module; I focused my own blogs on stress and personal development in education and learnt a lot through the vast amount of research required each week. However, I also learnt how much our education system needs to change. Its never something I’ve really thought about before, and after applying for a PGCE (unsuccessfully may I add L) it made me reassess the process a teacher goes through. I really think that doing an undergraduate degree, then a PGCE and then being thrown into a job is really wrong. I’ve taken this onboard myself, so for the next couple of years I’m going to volunteer and do TA work then apply for a teachers job through the job scheme, this way I’ll of had the most experience I could get before being thrown in at the deep end and also know for definite if its what I want to do (I’m not slating anybody who is going straight in for a PGCE, I probably would of if my interview were successful). I’ve also learnt that more support needs to be given to teachers in the work place, they need more support in order to achieve not only their potential, but also the potential of their students. I think that technology needs to be implemented into classrooms more so as well, Jesse proved that younger generations are developing the ability to use technology to learn, and also learn successfully, if this is the case then this can be implemented into classrooms to motivate and progress students learning ability. Lastly, I think that assessments in education NEED to change, not all students do well in exams, and most exams have the added pressure of meaning pass or fail (GCSE, A LEVEL, University). Assessments need to be adapted to the needs of the student, if the student does well with hands on tasks, implement an assessment to highlight this, if a student prefers coursework, projects, blogging or oral presentations, adapt an assessment to suit them. I’m not saying scrap all exams, as they do have positives and teach students the importance of revision and rehearsal, but the amount of stress and worry they produce needs to change.

Overall, I have to thank Jesse, Kate and Steve for the running of the module and everything that’s been involved in the presentations. By far, the best module I have ever studied at Bangor, just a shame it’s only an option in third year!

 

557403_10151392530447166_1787256280_n

Leave a Reply

